The Mystery of the Missing Nose

One breezy morning, a little brown bunny was sitting on a log at the edge of the pond. His name was Theodore and he was very, very sad.

“What a sad, sad day …” he sighed.

He wiped a tear running down his cheek.

“I’ll miss my nose very, very much,” he said.

You see, early that morning, as soon as he woke up, Theodore ran to the meadow beside his burrow. He wanted to see if the flowers have begun to bloom.

“Such pretty, pretty flowers!” Theodore exclaimed, clapping his hands.

A blanket of little white flowers covered a patch of grass in the meadow!

Theodore closed his eyes, took a deep breath … and sniffed!

“Aaaaah!” he exclaimed, smiling.

His eyes suddenly flew open! He sniffed again … and again … and again …

Nothing!

“I smell nothing!” Theodore exclaimed.

He tried again … and again … and again …

Nothing!

“Uh-oh!” Theodore exclaimed. “I lost my nose!”

Then, with his shoulders slumped, he went to sit on the log at the edge of the pond, looking very, very sad.

“What a sad, sad day …” he sighed.

Suddenly, a little white bunny came hopping by!

“Hello, Theodore!” exclaimed Stella, smiling. “How are you today?”

“Hi, Stella,” said Theodore. “I’m very, very sad today …”

“But why?” asked Stella. “It’s such a pretty day!”

Theodore looked up at Stella …

“Look, Stella!” he exclaimed, pointing to the center of his face. “I lost my nose!”

Stella stared … and stared …

“But …” she began, pointing at Theodore’s face.

“I will never be able to smell flowers again …” sighed Theodore, his long ears drooping.

“But …” Stella began, wiggling her whiskers.

“I will never be able to smell the grass after a rainy day again …” sighed Theodore, his whiskers drooping.

“But …” Stella began again, her eyes growing bigger.

“And carrots!” exclaimed Theodore, his eyes growing bigger too. “I will never be able to smell carrots again!”

“But Theodore!” exclaimed Stella, stomping her foot.

“What a sad, sad day this really is!” sighed Theodore, a tear sliding down his cheek.

Suddenly …

SHWOOMP!

Stella threw a bunch of pink flowers in front of Theodore’s face!

“Thanks for cheering me up with those sweet-smelling flowers, Stella,” Theodore said, wiping off his tears. “But I can’t smell them anymore. I lost my nose!”

“But you said they smell sweet …” Stella began.

“What a sad, sad day!” sighed Theodore.

Suddenly …

SHWOOMP!

Stella threw a skunk’s tail in front of Theodore’s face!

“Ooooh!” exclaimed Theodore, covering his nose with his hand. “Get that away from me Stella!”

Stella winked at Theodore. Theodore stared at Stella … and gasped!

“My nose!” he exclaimed, grabbing his pink, wiggling nose. “It’s back! I can smell again!”

Stella giggled!

“You didn’t really lose your nose, Theodore!” she exclaimed. “It was right there all along!”

Theodore hopped toward the little white flowers in the meadow … and sniffed!

“These flowers have no scent!” he exclaimed, giggling. “Silly, silly me!”

Leave a Reply

